The Civil Service Nationality Rules govern eligibility for employment in the Civil Service on the grounds of nationality and must therefore be followed by the SPS in our recruitment and appointment procedures.

In summary, only nationals from the following countries (or associations of countries) are generally eligible for employment in the Civil Service and therefore the SPS:

  • the United Kingdom (and British protected persons)
  • the Republic of Ireland
  • the Commonwealth 
  • the European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Switzerland and Turkey
  • Certain family members of EEA, Swiss and Turkish nationals are also eligible regardless of their nationality

There are certain very limited exceptions to the general prohibition on the employment of nationals from other countries. You can access the full Civil Service Nationality Rule here. 

Eligibility for employment by the SPS will be checked at the initial stages of the recruitment process and verified prior to any formal offer of employment being made.